Primary Care

Upcoming Meetings

Unless otherwise stated, all meetings will take place at:
The Foundation for Health Care Quality
705 Second Avenue, Suite 410
Seattle, WA 98104

Note: New Call-In Information
Zoom Meeting:
Phone Number:1 720 707 2699 US
Meeting ID: 359 817 9708

Date Time Materials
Wednesday, April 8 11:30am – 1:00pm Agenda April 8
Minutes March 11
Draft Recommendations
HCA Medicaid Nurse Practitioners OverviewTemporary TeleSIMP Policy (Chronic Pain Management) 
Washington Healthcare Forum Telehealth Payment Policy
Wednesday, May 13 11:30am – 1:00pm TBD
Wednesday, June 10 11:30am – 1:00pm TBD


Primary care, widely seen as the cornerstone of the health care system, is the usual source of care for many and is associated with better population health outcomes. However, access to primary care remains an issue across Washington state and reimbursement is low. The workgroup started meeting in January 2020.

Previous Meeting Materials

Agenda February 12Minutes January 8Charter Roster Draft
Senate Bill 6413HCA Primary Care Background

Date Materials
January 8  Agenda January 8
Bree Intro Slides
Bree Process
Charter Roster Draft January 8
February 12 Agenda February 12
Minutes January 8
Charter Roster Draft

Senate Bill 6413
HCA Primary Care Background
March 11 Agenda March 11
Minutes February 12
OFM Primary Care Expenditures Report

PC Summit Materials
New England Primary Care Wokrgroup


Workgroup Members

Name Title Organization
Judy Zerzan, MD, MPH Chief Medical Officer Washington State Health Care Authority
Patricia Auerbach, MD, MBA Senior Medical Director United Health Care
Cynthia Burdick, MD Medical Director, Medicare and Medicaid Kaiser Permanente Washington
Tony Butruille, MD Family Physician Cascade Medical
Susie Dade, MS Deputy Director Washington Health Alliance
Jason Fodeman, MD Associate Medical Director Washington State Department of Labor and Industries
Bianca Frogner, PhD Associate Professor, Family Medicine; Director of Center for Health Workforce Studies University of Washington School of Medicine
Ingrid Gerbino, MD, FACP Chief, Department of Primary Care Virginia Mason
Louise Kaplan, PhD, ARNP, FNP-BC, FAANP, FAAN Associate Professor, Associate Academic Director Washington State University Vancouver College of Nursing
Carl Olden, MD Family Physician Virginia Mason Memorial
Mary Kay O’Neill, MS, MBA Partner Mercer
Ashok Reddy, MD, MS Assistant Professor, Medicine University of Washington School of Medicine, Veterans Administration
Keri Waterland, PhD, MAOB Division Director, Division of Behavioral Health and Recovery Health Care Authority
Laura Kate Zaichkin, MPH Director, Health Plan Performance and Strategy SEIU 775 Benefits Group